Another item off the bucket list

Guess what appeared in my neighborhood?

The Oscar Meyer Weinermobile!

How many of us who have celebrated at least 40 birthdays can remember this song?
“Oh, I wish I was an Oscar Meyer Weiner.
That is what I truly want to be.
‘Cause if I was an Oscar Meyer Weiner, everyone would be in love with me!”

Do you remember the little plastic whistles with the annoyingly high pitch? Or the little plastic cars with the wheels that didn’t really turn well? Yes, they were cheap plastic toys, promotional freebies that would be given out in the grocery stores when I was growing up. But still fun to play with!

I’ve seen it rolling down the road, or they’ve made a stop in town while I was working…. but THIS time, well, my husband and I were heading home when I saw it. I said, “LOOK, it’s the Weinermobile!!! Let’s go see it!” He actually asked me, “You are serious? You want me to turn the car around and go back for you to see this thing?????” God bless him, he spoils me SO much. And yes, he turned the car around for me to go see the Weinermobile. I got to see it, to go in it, to answer trivia questions about it.

Did you know there are now SIX Weinermobile vehicles that criss-cross the US?
Did you know staffers are called Hotdoggers?
Did you know Hotdoggers serve for just one year, traveling all over?
Did you know that they select Hotdoggers from recent college graduates?

That last bit of trivia just might encourage me to go back to school and finish my degree!!!!
At 27’ long, the Weinermobile is shorter than my RV, so I’m pretty sure I could drive it. Unfortunately, they wouldn’t let me take it for a test drive or anything today (I asked).

fullsizeoutput_f7d

I might have to add driving the Weinermobile to my bucket list. I don’t need to drive it cross-country for a year though, just around the parking lot would be fine with me.

Oh, I wish I was an Oscar Meyer Weiner……I’m sorry if I got that song stuck in your head now…. well, not really, because it’s gotten stuck in mine. Maybe we could sing it together?

While setting the picture as my featured image for the blog post, I realized I had one of my minion shirts on. No wonder I’m so happy – minions and Weinermobile all in the same day!

Leave a Reply

