Art, and the need to create

When I was younger, I wanted to be an artist. I wanted to be able to create, to take a bit of clay and make it something beautiful.

Eight years of art through public school, working with crayons, fingerpaints, colored pencils, markers, watercolors, acrylic paints, clay, play-doh.

My people are still stick figures, and clay is still a lump; still life vases? Well, lets just say that was not exactly my calling. I found I do better with repeating patterns, like cutting a random shape and spinning it around and around while tracing it each time. I also do pretty well with the perspective drawings, where you put a dot on the paper and use a ruler to draw limits on the buildings, filling them in as they get smaller and smaller.

I’ve been blessed to be able to know a couple young women who are wonderful artists. I have to admit, I’m a bit jealous of their talent – their drawings of people look like real people, not a distorted face or body dimensions. They’ve even been recognized at local art shows, which is amazing to me, especially considering they were in high school.

SO, I went another direction. I started taking pictures. I’ll never be a professional photographer. To be honest, I don’t really know what all those individual settings do on my DSLR camera. I’m still messing around with them, learning as I go. I’m grateful for the multiple presets on the camera itself.

The picture on the blog is one I took on our vacation in West Yellowstone, Montana two years ago. I’ve also been blessed by a couple friends who asked if they could use a candid sunset silhouette picture I took of them as the picture on their wedding invitations. I cried because my heart was so full of gratefulness, love and awe.

I think the need to create is a human one. We all find different outlets to fulfill our creative space – we are mentors and coaches; bakers and chefs; authors and directors; researchers and scientists; decorators and fashion designers; photographers and graphic artists; musicians and teachers; marketing executives and speech writers; painters and sculptors; jewelers and architects.

How do you create?

Leave a Reply

